Classic Movie Genre on #MovieTriviaMonday

I love watching movies. It is one of my favorite pastimes. I don’t know if I would go as far as calling myself a movie “buff” or “geek” or not, but I have watched many. Today on twitter Cami Ryan (@DocCamiRyan) posted a picture of Harrison Ford from a movie along with a trivia question asking which movie the picture came from under the hash tag #MovieTriviaMonday . If I needed to answer the question right in order graduate to “geek” status then I guess I still have some work to do 🙂 .

I first became aware of the Internet Movie Database website (IMDB) probably about 10 years ago or so. For those not familiar it is an interactive site which allows movie fans who have registered at the site to rate movies that they have watched. The site then takes the rating and adds it to the data base and uses some sort of algorithm to compute and publish a rating for the movie based on this user data base. Pretty cool really. One of the things I noticed on the website was a list called the “top 250” which is a listing of the top movies according to the website user ratings. The year of release accompanies the movie title on the list. Of course the list contains movies from many eras going right back as far as the earliest times of the industry. I started watching some of the “classical” (for me I’ll define loosely as anytime prior to 1970) movies from the list which I had never seen or even heard of in some cases.

I quickly became a fan of the genre and have worked my way through many of these classic top 250 movies. Still many more to go. For those movie fans who have not taken an interest in older movies please consider the IMDB “top 250” list  and make a point of watching a few. I don’t think you will be disappointed. In fact I think you will agree that these movies stand the test of time and deserve the top list IMDB rating.

For whatever it’s worth, here is my own personal “top ten” list in the classical movie genre as I have defined it:

  1. “Lawrence of Arabia” (an amazing spectacle. I got the official “full geek” version HD DVD as a Christmas present last year)
  2. “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly” (watch the other two spaghetti westerns – also on this list – first as a build up)
  3. “Rear Window” (My favorite Hitchcock movie)
  4. “Sunset Boulevard” (I had no idea what to expect with this show – blew away my expectations)
  5. “Bridge on the River Kwai” (if you liked “Lawrence of Arabia”, you’ll like this)
  6. “The Treasure of the Sierra Madre” (my favorite movie paraphrase – “we don’t need no stinkin badges” )
  7. “High Noon” (as suspensful as any movie you’ll ever watch)
  8. “North by Northwest”
  9. “Cool Hand Luke”
  10. Tie between “Fistfull of Dollars” and “For a Few Dollars More” (gotta get all the spaghetti westerns on here!)

I would have to say that on any given day, I would probably rank the top 7 on my list interchangeably.

Honorable mentions (in no particular rank): Rope, The Hustler, To Kill a Mockingbird, Vertigo, Casablanca, Once Upon a Time in the West.

And now for another fun poll. For those who have watched any of the movies on my list, please indicate which was your favorite.

PS. For those hoping for agronomy posts I hope to have one up in about a week or so.

Leave a Reply

